Runs Batted In
When a batter hits the ball and a runner scores on the play, he is usually awarded a Run Batted In (RBI). Certain conditions need to be met and there are exceptions as outlined in scoring rule 10.04.
These are the basic points to keep in mind:
- credit the batter with an RBI for each run that scores on a play started with the batter hitting the ball EXCEPT
- if there was an error on the play
- the batter grounds into a force double play (or a reverse force double play)
- credit one RBI if with the bases loaded, the batter is awarded first base without hitting the ball (i.e., via a walk, hit by pitch or catcher’s interference )
- credit the batter with RBIs if an error is made on a play, but the run(s) would have scored anyways without the error (e.g., runner on 3rd nobody out and infield playing back. Hitter grounds to shortstop who throws to 1st base conceding the run. The throw is wild and batter ends up on 2nd. Give the batter a reach on error, and the RBI). Note that the number of outs is important in these types of situations. If there were already 2 outs, then no RBI, as the run would not have scored without the error.
- If a runner scores due to a fielder holding the ball or throwing to a different base, credit the RBI only if the runner was running towards home the whole time. If he appeared to only be going to 3rd and decided to run home when the throw went to a different base, then score it as a fielder’s choice.