Putouts and Assists

(AP Photo/The Canadian Press, Chris Young)

A putout (PO) is credited to a fielder who gets an offensive player out as described in scoring rule 10.09. An assist (A) is credited to fielders who contribute to an offensive player being out as per scoring rule 10.10.

Putouts

Credit a putout to a fielder who gets a batter or runner out.  Typical occurrences of this include catching a fly ball, tagging a base the runner is forced to, or tagging a runner off a base.  Additionally, a catcher gets credit for a putout on a strikeout.(*)

Additionally there are several circumstances of automatic outs. The following are all credited to the catcher:

  • bunting foul for 3rd strike
  • illegally batted ball (e.g., using an illegal bat or foot out of batter’s box)
  • batter touched by batted ball
  • interfering with catcher
  • batting out of turn

The following automatic outs are credited to the appropriate fielder as follows

  • infield fly not caught – fielder who should have made the catch
  • runner out for being hit by a batted ball – fielder closest to ball
  • runner out for running out of base line to avoid a tag – fielder whom the runner avoided
  • runner out for passing another runner – fielder closest to the runner being passed
  • runner out for interference – fielder who was interfered
    • Note: if fielder was throwing ball, then credit fielder with an assist and give the putout to whoever he was throwing ball to
  • batter is out due to runner interference (i.e., automatic double play), give putout to 1st baseman

To summarize all of these, it’s basically the fielder that was closest to the runner or ball that gets credit for the out.

(*) Give the catcher the putout as long as he catches it, or if the batter is automatically out.  If it’s dropped and the ball is thrown to first base, then the catcher gets the assist and the first baseman (or whoever makes the out) gets the putout.

Assists

Credit an assist to each fielder who contributed to getting a batter or runner out. Typically this is when a fielder throws the ball to another fielder who gets credit for the putout as defined above.

There are some specific points and exceptions to note:

  • a fielder gets an assist even if no out is recorded due to an error (e.g., a shortstop throws to the first baseman in plenty of time,  and he drops the ball.  SS gets the A, the first baseman gets the E, and no hit to the batter).
  • credit an assist if the ball is deflected off a fielder and there is a subsequent putout. (e.g., a line drive glances off the pitcher to the 3rd baseman who throws to 1st for the out.  Both pitcher and 3B get an assist).
  • if a fielder throws the ball multiple times in a run-down play, he can only be credited with a single assist
  • pitchers do not get assists on strikeouts, or on caught stealings
  • no assist is recorded for a fielder who makes a wild throw, and as a runner tries to advance further is put out.  (e.g., a catcher throws the ball into centerfield to attempt to get a runner going to 2nd.  If the runner tries to advance to 3rd and is thrown out by the outfielder, the catcher does not get an assist)

 

Advertisements
  1. What’s up mates, good post and good arguments commented at this place,
    I am actually enjoying by these.

  2. Big help! Thanks!

  3. We absolutely love your blog and find a lot of
    your post’s to be exactly what I’m looking for.
    Does one offer guest writers to write content in your case?

    I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on many of the subjects you write about here.
    Again, awesome blog!

  4. This article is genuinely a fastidious one it assists new net people, who are wishing in favor of blogging.

  5. Read moreBy: Daniel Delos BeautyIn the past couple of different levels of organisms, particularly in hard-to-reach places of oil pulling the advertisements for
    DIY health, and during exhalation ten om-sounds. Whitening
    oil pulling ToothpastesThese are commercially available dog-foods approved by
    the orthodontist. Below I will try to talk to your other major dental surgeries.

  6. What’s Going down i am new to this, I stumbled
    upon this I have found It absolutely helpful and
    itt has helped mme out loads. I hope tto give a contribution &
    assist different users like its aided me. Great job.

  7. On a 6-4-3 double play, does the second baseman get a putout and an assist?

  8. Timothy Kraus

    Hit or FC?
    Man on 1st and 2nd. Two outs. Batter lines a pitch through the hole on the ground. Runner on second trips on his way to third and falls injured. Left fielder charges the grounder and throws ball to 3rd for put out. Is batter credited with a hit or fielders choice.

  9. Unfortunately for the batter this is a fielder’s choice

  1. Pingback: “Andre Ethier out at first”. On a foul ball… uh? « Baseball Scoring Rules

  2. Pingback: traiteur rabat

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: