Keith Allison
It’s the Captain! Therefore not an error!

A common difficulty among scorers is determining if an error should be charged on a play or not.  Hopefully this article will help you make sense of the error rule which is covered in 10.12 in the official scoring rules. The basic rule is that an error is charged if a batter’s at bat is prolonged, if he gets on base instead of being out, or if a runner (or the batter himself) advances extra bases due to a physical mistake made by a fielder.   A key phrase in determining whether a play is an error or not is if the fielder could have “handled the ball with ordinary effort”,  and does not then it is an error. Some key points: A fielder can get an error even if he doesn’t touch the ball

The comment after Rule 10.12(a)(1) says “…It is not necessary that the fielder touch the ball to be charged with an error. … For example, the official scorer shall charge an infielder with an error when a ground ball passes to either side of such infielder if, in the official scorer’s judgement, a fielder at that position making ordinary effort would have fielded such ground ball and retired a runner.”

(Funny, I rarely see official scorers give Derek Jeter errors on these type of plays.)

If a fielder gets to the ball, but can’t make a play he should not necessarily get an error

For example, if an outfielder dives for a ball and it goes off his glove, it was not a play where he could have “handled the ball with ordinary effort”, therefore no error should be charged.

If a fielder drops a routine foul fly ball, and the batter is subsequently retired, an error is charged even though the outcome is the same

An error is charged if a batter’s at bat is prolonged, regardless of what happens afterwards (*)

No error is charged on a wild throw, if no runners advance extra bases

For example, on an infield hit where an infielder throws the ball too late to 1st base, and throws wild, there is no error, unless the batter ends up on 2nd base because of the wild throw.  This also applies to stolen bases – a catcher’s throw to the outfield is not scored an error, unless the runner advances another base past the stolen base.

Errors are charged to whoever threw the ball, if it hits something and takes a bad bounce, regardless of how unfair that may be.

For example, if a throw hits a sliding runner and bounces wild allowing him or another runner to advance another base, or if a ball hits a base or the pitcher’s rubber.

Errors are charged to fielders who cause obstruction or interference resulting in award of bases to runners No errors are charged when attempting a double play, as long as one runner is put out.

For example, a shortstop takes a ground ball, steps on 2nd to get the runner coming from 1st and throws wildly to 1st base.  Even if a good throw would have had the batter out, no error is charged (unless the wild throw allows the batter to advance to 2nd base).

No errors are charged for wild pitches or passed balls.

(*) the only exception is if an outfielder intentionally does not catch a foul fly to prevent a runner from tagging up at 3rd base and scoring

  1. Runners on first and second, no outs. Batter bunts as runners take off. Bunt pops up and third baseman catches it. Looks at second to double up the runner but he is quick to react so third baseman fires to first to double him up. Throws wild and then runner on second heads for third. First baseman retrives ball bouncing off the wall and throws the runner out at third. On that throw the runner on first makes it to second. Double play, two out runner on second. Question: Is the third baseman charged with a throwing error on that play. The runner on first advanced to second on the wild throw but as a final result it ended in a double play. HELP.

    • The short answer is it depends! Did the runner on first go to second because of the wild throw or did he go to second because the first baseman threw the ball to 3rd? If he only made it to 2nd because of the throw to 3rd, then his advance is on a fielder’s choice, and no error. If he would have taken second even if there was no other runner, then he advanced because of the error and it needs to be charged.

    • No double play! There was a misplay (the wild throw to first) between the two outs. Without the wild throw, the runner from second would not have tried to go to third base.

  2. I have questions. If on an attempted DP, the SS comes across too early and the runner is safe, AND the subsequent throw to first is late and the batter is also safe, are errors charged??

  3. Let me start with the easy part of the question. No error is charged on the late throw to first base. Two reasons for this:
    1- no error should be charged for slow handling of a ball. See wording here:
    “Rule 10.12(a)(1) Comment: Slow handling of the ball that does not involve mechanical misplay shall not be construed as an error. For example, the official scorer shall not charge a fielder with an error if such fielder fields a ground ball cleanly but does not throw to first base in time to retire the batter”
    2 – no error should be charged for not getting the 2nd out on a double play.
    “Rule 10.12(d) The official scorer shall not charge an error against:(3) any fielder who makes a wild throw in attempting to complete a double play or triple play, unless such wild throw enables any runner to advance beyond the base such runner would have reached had the throw not been wild”
    I realize there was no first out in this situation, but the same concept applies. The official scorer can never assume that a second runner will be put out on a play, so no error is charged for failing to make the out (unless a wild throw etc allows extra bases).

    However, from your description, there should be an error for failing to get the lead runner out. The error may be on the shortstop, if the throw to him is on time to retire the runner going to 2nd, but he misses stepping on the base (and whoever threw the ball gets an “assist” on the non-existent putout). If he comes across early and is off the base because the throw sent him off the base, then whoever threw the ball should get the error.

  4. Thanks for the reply! But I’m still wondering! The SS came across the bag to quickly, and caught the ball after crossing 2nd. The throw was fine and on target, but we don’t know if it was late, or if the SS was just in a hurry due to the batter being a speedy runner. Either way, what should have been a routine 4-6-3 DP wound up with runners at 1st & 2nd with no outs! From the box, it appears the SS was hurrying to get the runner at 1st… So is he charged with an error? The ball wasn’t misthrown, nor mishandled…

  5. “the throw was fine and on target…” That sounds to me like the SS should have made the out at 2nd base and didn’t, so I would give the shortstop the error on that. The ball wasn’t misthrown nor mishandled, but I think this case is covered in scoring rule 10.12(a)(4): “The official scorer shall charge an error against any fielder.. when such fielder catches a thrown ball in time to put out any runner on a force play and fails to tag the base or the runner”

  6. IF a ball is hit to the outfield and the fielder dives and misses but it hits his gloves and the hitter makes it to second. Is it a single or a double?

    • Double. This is one of those that is unfair as far as charging earned runs to the pitcher, but it is what it is. No error can be charged, since if he dove the play couldn’t have been made “with ordinary effort”, and since he ended up on 2nd it’s a double.

  7. How would you score the following play: Batter his a hard line drive off the leg of the pitcher. Ball rebounds off his leg toward first base, the first baseman attempts to field the ball in foul territory about 2 strides inside first base while attempting to field the ball drops it. Is that a hit or error? If fielded cleanly it could have been an out….

  8. Runner on second base, one out. Ground ball to third, fielded cleanly, throw to first on a one hop in line with first baseman, first baseman does not catch the ball on the one hop. Ball thrown with plenty of time to get the runner. Error or hit?

  9. Error. And it is an E5. Even though the first baseman should have caught the ball cleanly on one hop, the fact that it bounced puts the error on the thrower.

    • Where do you place the E5 in the score book, on the current batter or on the players box, or both?

      • Eveybody uses their own style/preferences for keeping score. Typically errors that allow a runner to reach base are indicated on the current batter, to indicate how he got on base.

  10. o’s game 4/3/2014 -left fielder miss plays pop fly. if he would have not dove for ball at all (he was 2 yards short of catch (bad judgement)) runner on first would have been held at third. instead, runner on first base scores on the play. because of bad play the runner seems to advance and score on the play

    • Typically no error is charged when a fielder dives for a ball and misses. Bill James (I think) once proposed the concept of a “team error” for situations like this, where no individual should be charged with an error but something should be put in the scoring to protect the pitcher’s ERA. Cases such as this turn a routine single into a triple, but no error is charged.

  11. So a very basic question. SS fields a basic ground ball but throws off, so that First Baseman has to leave bag to get throw. Batter makes it to first. is this an error on the SS?

  12. Deep fly ball over center fielders head, windy, he retreats a good distance, never gets square under ball, does get good glove on ball at fence. Ball is dropped, Batter ends up on third. How would you score? To me, it was not Routine, is this a triple?

    • Tough to say without seeing it. But you said “to me it was not routine”… that makes it a hit (triple) in my book. Personally, anytime the wind or sun affect a fielder making a play I think it’s no longer ordinary effort, and don’t charge an error if the play isn’t made.

    • Walking in the prceense of giants here. Cool thinking all around!

  13. Runner on 2nd batter lays down a text book bunt, 1st baseman come in to field the ball and obstructed the catcher from making the throw. Runner reaches the base. Is it ROE or a base hit?

    • I don’t see an error in your description (other than maybe judgement on the 1st baseman’s part). Score it a hit.

      • Is this an error for the short stop and not a base hit for me? I hit a slow ground ball between short and third and the shortstop backhanded the ball and went for the out at first but the throw was a bit wild and the first baseman had to get off the base to catch the ball but he did off the bag and I was safe. Is this a basehit for me to count towards my batting average?

  14. Runners at 2nd and 3rd one out, slow roller to third. Fielder chooses not to make a play at first in order to keep runner at third. Is this a hit or fielders choice. I say hit others say FC because fielder chose not to make a play to prevent run from scoring.

    • It’s a hit. For an FC, the fielder actually had to try to make a play on another runner. (or at least fake a throw to make him go back, or take a couple of steps towards him etc, before throwing to 1st)

      • In the same scenario as above with runners on 2nd and 3rd one out, slow roller to 3B, speedy batter, runner on 3B breaks for home on hit, 3B fields it cleanly and makes a good throw that barely beats the runner at home but runner is able to avoid the catchers tag and everyone is safe. Is this a hit and rbi or FC with rbi or just FC?

  15. TJ – from your description “shortstop backhanded the ball”, I would say it’s not a play that could be made with ordinary effort so you should get a hit and it does help your batting average. If it had been a routine grounder right to him, and his throw took the 1st baseman off the bag, then it would be an error.

    • Scott Herzer

      So, are you saying any ground ball an infielder has to backhand to make the play is an automatic hit if the batter is safe? I guess I mean to ask, “is every backhanded play is not considered routine?”

      • Not necessarily. It could be a routine ground ball, but the fielder gets cute and tries to make a backhanded play. That would result in an error. But without seeing the play, I’m assuming from the description that the ball was almost out of reach of the shortstop and he had no choice but to backhand it… in which case I would think it’s no longer a routine play.

  16. Quick question: there is a runner on 2nd, batter tries to sacrifice him over to 3rd; in doing so, the fielder throws the ball away (the batter would have been out at first had it been a good throw, thus giving the batter a Sac Bunt); because of the throwing error, the base runner from 2nd scores and the batter ends up on 2nd…how is the at bat scored? Is it an ROE or still a Sac Bunt?


    • Batter gets credit for what would have happened without the error. In this case, it is a sac bunt. Fielder also charged with an error which accounts for batter getting on base safely, advancing to 2nd and the runner scoring.

  17. What if a line drive is hit at the pitcher and it hits his had and injures him and the runner obviously makes it to first safe. Base hit or error? I need an official link to back that up? Help

    • Hits his Hand*

      • A line drive off of the pitcher is a base hit. Pitchers are generally not ruled with an error on a ball hit back at them. It is not a natural play for them. It comes back to what Ruben says about it having to be a play with “ordinary effort.”

        There is no official rule on pitchers and errors such as this.

  18. If a ball is hit decently hard up the middle where pitcher knocks down the ball and goes directly to the SS who then fumbles it when trying to play the ball off of pitcher glove, is that an error on the SS?

    • Ruben commented above in another response that because the ball rebounds off of the pitcher, that is not an ordinary play. Unless the SS would have had ample time to get the runner at 1st on the rebound, which is usually unlikely in that situation.

  19. Ball is hit to towards first base and lands sharply near the bag. First baseman goes over towards bag and when ball hits the ground, it sharply veers to the left to where first baseman initially was standing, going past his outstretched bare hand into right field. Basically the ball hand “english” on it and made a routine play not so routine. However, visitors book felt it was an error and I ruled it a hit since the ball changed direction. What’s the ruling?

    • Thanks for replying to the last couple. I haven’t had a chance to post the last few days. Your answers are spot on!
      As far as your question, with the caveat that it’s very hard to score a play without actually seeing it, from your description it’s definitiely a hit. Once the ball changed direction the play could not have been made with ordinary effort.
      Another good rule of thumb is if there is any doubt, it’s usually a hit.

  20. Runner on 2nd. Ball is hit to 3rd baseman. He runs to step on 3rd base thinking runner was on 1st as well and force was in effect, which was not the case.
    Is that ruled an error?

    • No error! This is an error in judgement only, and the rules specifically cover this with the comment in Rule 10.12(a)(1) “The official scorer shall not score mental mistakes or misjudgments as errors”

  21. Scott Herzer

    Hi…bases loaded, no outs. routine ground ball to the first baseman but to his right so he decides to go for the forceout at home. He throws wide and the runner on third scores. Catcher retrieves the ball after it caroms around a bit. This takes long enough for the runner originally on second base to try to score. The catcher makes a good throw to the first baseman who is running in now to cover home. (I have no idea where the pitcher went). The first baseman drops the throw from the catcher and the runner from second also scores. The throw was good, and if caught the first baseman would have been able to tag the baserunner easily. Is this two errors on the first baseman?

  22. Player (any base) fields a ball and throws to first to try to make the out. The throw lands at the first baseman’s feet and first cannot make dig the ball out of the ground (or it ends up skippng past). Is this an error on the first baseman or on the throw? Any general rules to determine where this type of error should be assigned? (ie a clean throw would get the batter, but on the other hand the fielder “should” make the play)? Thanks!

    • It’a an error on the throw. As unfair as this may be, the rule of thumb is to ALWAYS give the error on the throw UNLESS it literally goes into the fielder’s glove and falls out. Even if a good first baseman should have been able to catch the ball on a bounce and doesn’t, the fielder who threw the ball gets charged with the error.

  23. Fernando Vega

    1B hit runner on first pitcher throws to 1b bad(error) runner advance to 3rd base next batter hit to center field , the ball goes by him (error) ends scoring to then 3 struck outs are this runs earn

  24. Garrett Akridge

    Hard hit ground ball straight to shortstop. Ricochets off the glove of the shortstop, confused to whether to mark it as in error, it wasn’t an “ordinary effort” play because the ball was barreled up and a hard hit ball but the shortstop was squared up to the ball and it just ricochets of her glove so how do you mark this?

    • It’s really hard to tell from a text description. This might depend on the level of play. In the MLB this is an error. For a 12 year old playing little league, this is a hit and not an error. There’s a lot of gray area in between. If the shortstop was squared up in plenty of time, then I’d lean towards an error.

  25. Fernando Vega

    Hit then throwing error by the pitcher runner goes to 3rd base then 1 base hit center field error and hiter scores then 3 strike outs end of inning are the runs un-earn????

    • Runs are unearned. The way to determine earned vs unearned runs is to figure out what would have happened without the error. In this case, without error you’d have runners on 1st and 2nd (or 1st and 3rd) and then 3 strike outs. No run would have scored. Therefore unearned.

      • Ok… on 2nd and 3rd, 2 outs…..batter hits hard ball to second base side of pitcher, goes off heal of pitchers glove and then ball is over ran by SS and 2nd baseman…..batter safe at first and both runners score….how do u score that?

  26. @Ryan – that sounds like a hit, and 2 RBIs. Probably not an ordinary effort play for pitcher, and once it went off glove, not easy play for SS/2B either, therefore a hit.

  27. ok, here is a second layer to this situation. It happened in todays 16U baseball game. I’ll try to be succinct so it isn’t confusing!

    1. Runner on 1st, no outs.
    2. Batter hits a line drive to center field, hits grass first (as opposed to dinging off a fielders glove). Bounces two times before CF fields it as he’s running in.
    3. Runner on 1st was off at the crack of the bat to 2nd (as it is a force situation on a ball clearly not catchable in the air before it will bounce).
    4. CF slightly bobbles the ball after fielding it and throws it into 2nd base.

    Here is where it possibly takes a strange turn. One of the parents wanted me to score it an error on CF (E8). Their logic was if they had fielded said hit ball cleanly, they could have thrown out the runner from 1B (forced at 2B). Neither runner advanced beyond 1B (hitter), and 2B (runner previously at 1B). I explained to the parent that since I can’t be sure if the CF would or would not have thrown out the forced runner- it’s simply a “hit” and the player at 1B advanced on this hit. I also qualified that if the runners had moved up another base, it would be an error that resulted in the runners advancing on the bobbled ball. Since no runners advanced, it’s not an error to “not throw out the advancing runner from 1B on a force”.

    Thoughts? Am I right on this or should I have awarded CF an error?

  28. You are 100% correct. This is a hit.

  29. Runner on 1st…Hard hit ball to ss. Ball takes a bad bounce hitting ss in chest. No time to get the runner at 1st. attempts to get the advancing runner. Everyone is safe. Hit or FC

  30. Ruben,
    16U game. Groundball between 1st and 2nd basemen. 1st baseman fields ball cleanly but is about 15 ft toward 2nd base. Pitcher is very late coming over to cover 1st, but if he had reacted when he “should” have would have been there to field the throw from the 1st baseman. 1st baseman’s throw is wild to the late pitcher and runner is ruled safe at first. Error on the throw? Error on the pitcher for getting late start? Hit? Thanks.

    • As unfair as it may be, you can never charge an error for a pitcher getting a late start. In fact if he just stood on the mound and watched, there would be no error either. You say the 1st baseman’s throw was wild. If it had been on target would the runner have been out or would he have been safe due to the lateness of the pitcher? If he would have been safe anyways, then it’s a hit. If he would have been out in spite of the pitcher’s late break to first, then it’s an error on the first baseman on the throw.

  31. Runners on 1st and 2nd. Hard ground ball hit and ss has to dive and go l out to field the ball. He gets up to throw the 2nd base runner out at 3rd but the 3rd baseman isn’t there. Ss then underhand tosses to the base as the 3rd baseman tried to get their but misses the ball and the runner now scores. Who gets the error, the ss or the 3rd baseman for not getting their in time?

    • The SS. Good rule of thumb is if in doubt charge the error to whomever threw the ball. (only exception is on a steal: if nobody covers and ball goes into CF, the 2b or ss – whoever should have been there – gets the error)

      • Coach Questions

        Runner on 1B. Pitch and steal attempt by funner on 1B. Catcher makes good throw that beats the runner and hits the glove of the 2B. Runner slides and 2B drops / loses ball in the slide. Runner is safe. Is this an error on 2B?

  32. Man on first. Line drive to right field, bounces high over outfielder’s head, he runs back, throws to cut off, runner scores, batter on third. Single and error or triple?

  33. Bottom of last inning, two outs. Runners on 2nd and 3rd. Batter hits ball up middle, second baseman attempts to field ball behind bag at second, lays out for it but cannot field cleanly. No throw. Runner scores from third. Did game end on error or hit?

  34. Hit. If the 2nd baseman layed out for it it’s no longer a play that can be made with ordinary effort, so no error should be charged.

  35. Wide throw from shortstop to first base. First baseman comes off the bag to catch the throw, attempts to tag the runner and runner knocks the ball out of his glove far enoug away to allow him to go to second base. One error, two errors? Thanks.

    • E6 on the throw to first for sure. After that…. sounds to me like offensive intereference and the runner should be called out. Similar to the ARod slapping the ball out of Bronson Arroyo’s hand in the 2004 ALCS? But if no interference was called (sometimes there is incidental contact), it depends on whether the ball came out of his glove sort of at the same time he caught it… then I’d say it’s all part of the same initial throwing error. But if the first baseman clearly had the ball and then it came loose, that’s a 2nd error and charge that one to the first baseman.

  36. Ruben,
    I have read through and enjoyed your responses to these different situations. Great job! I have a situation of my own:

    Runner on 2nd, 1 out. Batter hits a one-hopper to the third baseman, who has to take a couple steps to his left (towards shortstop) to make the play. Third baseman turns toward the bag to make a tag on the runner from 2nd (who foolishly ran on contact), but the runner is fast, making a play impossible – in fact, the third baseman doesn’t even attempt to make the tag. He turns back around to 1B but does not attempt a throw, as he does not have the arm strength to make the assist.

    FC, E, or H?

    • Thank you – I’m glad your enjoying reading these. To answer your question, I believe this is a fielder’s choice. It is not necessary for a fielder to actually throw the ball to another base. If he takes a step towards a base or fakes a throw to a base, and then is to late to retire the batter, that is a FC.

  37. OK, I have two situations.

    1st one – A ground ball is hit to the right side. The first baseman attempts to make a play but can’t get to the ball. The second baseman thinking the first baseman is going get there, goes to cover first. As he is headed to first, he now sees the first baseman is not going to get there and retreats to make the play. Bounces off his glove and does not recover in time to make the throw to the covering pitcher. Who gets the error if one is even suppose to be given.

    2nd one – Runners on first and second. A single to the center fielder. The center fielder comes up throwing to 3rd, as the runner is trying to advance to 3rd base. However, the 3rd baseman is not in position to take the throw. He has gone to back up a potential play at home. Since there is nobody covering 3rd, that runner advances to home and the batter takes 2nd on the throw. How do I score this. The runner on first definitely would not had scored. And the batter did go to second until the ball bounced around since no one was there to cover to 3rd.

  38. Runner on first. Routine grounder to second. Second baseman decides to go short way to get out at second. Shortstop is late to cover. Second baseman still had tons of time to turn and get slow runner at first but waits for SS to get to second base before he throws it. Everybody safe. How do you score it? Error on SS for late cover? Error on 2B for not making routine play at first? Or hit?

    • Can’t give an error for late cover. Can’t give error for not deciding to make routine play. The only reason the batter got to first base was because the 2nd baseman decided to throw the ball to 2nd. In this situation, it is irrelevant whether he got the runner going from 1st out or not. See Scoring rule 10.05 (b)(4) which says not to credit the batter with a hit if “fielder fails in an attempt to put out a preceding runner and, in the scorer’s judgment, the batter-runner could have been put out at first base”. It’s not a hit, it’s not an error, it’s a fielder’s choice.

  39. How do you score a batter who hits and makes it to second safely. The runner at third goes home and the third base coach thinks the short stop threw the ball to home and tells the runner at second who just arrived on his own hit, to go to third. The short stop did not throw the ball, so he tags the runner out as he passes by. Is this scored a double since he made it safely there and only attempted a steal on the supposed through to home, or is it considered an out in the book?

    • It’s a double. This is the same as if batter hits a ball into the gap and tries to get a triple and is thrown out at 3rd. If he gets thrown out trying to get to 2nd, he gets a single, throw out trying to get an inside the park home run, gets a triple.

  40. Marvin,

    It is a double with a caught stealing for the out. You also base the amount of bases to award a hitter and where they would have been when ball returned to the infield. For example, the batter hits to the outfield for a single. Then the outfielder fires the ball back into home and the runner advances to second. Still a single with an advancement on the throw. If then the runner gets tagged out rounding second, still gets the single, still gets the advancement to second, then the out on a caught stealing or advancing.

  41. Runners on 1st & 2nd, slow grounder hit to 2nd baseman. Fielded cleanly and 2nd baseman looks to 3rd but decides it’s too late to make a play so he comes back to throw to first but first baseman is not there. Nor is pitcher. All runners are safe, bases now loaded. Hit? Error? FC?
    Thank you.

  42. In case it matters, the first baseman had attempted to play the grounder and missed and was now out of position. The runner in question was pretty fast but had the first baseman stayed at first then there was time for a play to be made at first.

    • This is a hit. No physical error was made, and mental or judgement errors don’t count. The only question is if the 2nd baseman did more than look at 3rd and actually took a step towards there or faked a throw and then looked at first, it could be scored an FC. But no error.

  43. Thank you Ruben. Your thorough explanations are great. I really appreciate what you’re doing here.

  44. question…ground ball to the rightfielder who happens to have a cannon of an arm…fields the ball cleanly, and goes for the transfer to throw to first base. Bobbles and drops the ball…doesn’t even make a throw to first base. If he had, he might have had him, because he has done it a few times in the past. Question is…is this an ERROR? or a hit?

    • It’s a hit. When considering the difficulty of a play (i.e., whether an out could be made with ordinary effort or not), you should take into consideration what an average fielder at that position would do. Generally, it is not an ordinary play for a right fieldr to get a 9-3 putout, so this should not be an error.

      • Matt Whitehead

        Still a hit if the Right fielder actually throws the ball but makes a bad throw that would have had the runner out by 4-5 steps?

      • Yes. Read my above reply – it is ordinary effort for a right fielder to throw a batter-runner at first base?

  45. William Morgan

    No one on base and the shortstop back hands it. Throws it to first on a short hop and the first baseman misses the pick is it the shortstops error or the first baseman’s error?

    • Shortstop. The error is always on the fielder who threw the ball. Only exception is if the ball goes directly into the glove of the 1st baseman and he drops the ball. But if the ball bounces or gets there on the hop and is not handled cleanly, whoever threw the ball gets the error.

      • Couldnt this have also been ruled a hit. Depending on how many steps he had to make before he was able to backhand the play. usually unless a rocket, your going to take a few steps. So I would not charge the SS for a bad throw. I would give it a hit. Whats your take?

  46. No one on base. Ground ball to shortstop. Shortstop bobbles the ball. Throw is short. First baseman lays out fully extended on the ground with foot on bag. Ball hits in his glove, but falls out. Is this an error on SS, first base, or a hit?

    • Thats an error on the shortstop once he bobbled the ball. Unless it was hit pretty clear 5 or 6 steps to the left or right, and he bobbled trying to make a good play. Then regardless, its a hit. At no time would the first baseman been charged. If he is laying out to catch the ball, then its not made with ordinary effort. So error on shortstop if hit cleanly, or hit if in gaps by margin. Some scorers will also take into consideration if the ball was a piss rocket and too hot to handle, will award a hit. Whats your thoughts Ruben?

  47. Rick,
    Under the conditions you mentioned, the error would certainly not be on the 1st baseman. The short stop would be credited an error only if the scorer believed that the ball could have been fielded cleanly and the out made. You will almost never see an error give to the first baseman on a throw to first base, unless the throw was right to him and he missed or dropped it or failed to have a foot on the bag. Anything in the dirt or off target is an error on the trow even if you think the first baseman should have been able to field it.

  1. Pingback: Why hits and batting average are misleading « Baseball Scoring Rules

  2. Pingback: Walkoff errors in the postseason | Baseball Scoring Rules

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: