About this Site

This site is meant to become a comprehensive reference for anyone who is scorekeeping a baseball game.  It is not geared towards the beginner parent who just wants to keep track of runs and outs for their kids’ coach.  There are many good introduction to scorekeeping reference books out there already.  Here is a
list of some you can use to learn the basics of how to keep score.  I am also not going to advise on basic scorekeeping plays.  This blog will not teach you that a groundout to shortstop should be scored a 6-3, or a flyball caught by the centerfielder is an F8.  There are many resources here that can help you with these basics.

This site is meant to teach the scorekeeper who already knows the basics, the nuances of how to score certain plays.  This ranges from some common occurrences such as “is it a hit or an error?” to some rarer incidents such as who to credit with a putout when nobody touches the ball (e.g., batting out of turn).   I plan on using examples from recent MLB games to illustrate points where possible.  I will also draw upon my personal experience watching and umpiring youth games to give me some ideas of topics to discuss. Additionally, if there are any specific items you would like to me cover, please let me know and I will do my best.  You can leave a comment on here, email me, or mention it on Twitter.

There are some basic articles that cover the major scorekeeping rules in the Rules Articles section.  I will occasionally blog about random scoring topics of interest, and will have a “Did you know” series that will be just short little tidbits, as well as several rants on things I think need to be changed.

And finally, for ease of writing, I’ve mainly used the masculine (“he”) instead of the more correct but verbose “he or she” throughout this site, but any references to a particular gender should be understood to refer to a generic player, whether male or female. I’m well aware that females play baseball too, and write about it as well.

  1. Everything is very open with a clear clarification of the challenges.
    It was truly informative. Your site is extremely helpful.

    Thanks for sharing!

  2. Visiting 2nd pitcher throws 4th and 5th inning and bottom of 5th game is tied 3-3. Visiting team scores 1 run in top of 6th inning and has lead 4-3. 3rd pitcher throws 6th and 7th and score stayed the same and 4th pitcher threw 8th snd 9th and score stayed the same. Visiting team won 4-3. Which pitcher gets the win?

  3. The 2nd pitcher. Officially he only left the game after the top of the 6th, and his team was leading and maintained the lead. See the page on “winning and losing pitcher” for more details here https://baseballscoring.wordpress.com/site-index/winning-pitcher/

  4. I have a hit or error question about a specific situation . Does your site answer specific questions? If not can you refer to a site that does this?

    • Sure. The page on errors has lots of user submitted questions that I try to answer when I can. Leave your question there (after looking through the comments to see if it’s been asked/answered previously), and I will reply.

  5. Phil Serafini

    First I would like to say I really enjoy your website, it is very informative. A play happened yesterday in mlb where a fielder tried to catch a fly ball near second base and was obstructed by a runner who was on second base. I know there is a rule that a runner is not supposed to obstruct a fielder trying to make a play on a batted ball so wouldn’t this be obstruction by the player who was standing on base?

    • Thank you for your comments. First, let me give the disclaimer that this site is about “scoring” rules and not the actual playing rules of baseball. But I am an amateur umpire, so I don’t mind answering your question You are probably thinking of rule 7.08 (b) which says “Any runner is out when— He intentionally interferes with a thrown ball; or hinders a fielder attempting tomake a play on a batted ball;” Note that it doesn’t have to be intentional. Even the comment following the rule clarifies this: “Rule 7.08(b) Comment: A runner who is adjudged to have hindered a fielder who is attempting to make a play on a batted ball is out whether it was intentional or not.“. So why was the runner not called out for interference? (not obstruction, that’s something entirely different). Well, there’s an additional comment on that rule: “If, however, the runner has contact with a legally occupied base when he hinders the fielder, he shall not be called out unless, in the umpire’s judgment, such hindrance, whether it occurs on fair or foul territory, is intentional.” So, in the situation you saw (the Jays/Astros game? I’m assuming), the runner was standing on 2nd when he unintentionally interfered with the shortstop, so according to this rule he was not called out.

  6. Bases loaded and one out. Batter hits a fly ball to centerfield which is caught for the second out. Runner at 3rd tags up and scores. Runner at second appears to advance to third. However upon appeal the runner that was on second is called out for leaving the bag too early. This is the third out. Originally the umpire ruled that runner who tagged at third and went home didn’t count. However at the end of next inning he reversed himself saying the run should count as it scored before the dead ball appeal of the runner at second. So the question is, should the run have counted. If not then does the batter who flew out to centerfield just get an F8 scored against them with an at bat and no sac fly?

    • The run should have counted. It is a time play, As long as the runner scored before the appeal it counts. The only time a run doesn’t count is when the 3rd out of the inning is made on the batter-runner on 1st base, or on a force play. An appeal play is NOT a force play. So, the batter does get a sac fly and RBI.

  7. I happened to read your article from 2014 when Giancarlo Stanton was pinch hit for by Reed Johnson…Johnson struck out, but came in with 2 strikes so Stanton was charged with the K. Suppose the third strike to Johnson had eluded the catcher, he made it safely to first, and subsequently scored…how would you score this? SO and AB for Stanton, run for Johnson…also game appearance for Johnson i would think, but as what? Not as a pinch hitter, since 2 batters can’t “share” an AB…maybe as a pinch runner?

  8. thanx!…pinch-runner does make sense, even though Stanton was never a runner…scoring rules don’t specifically cover this do they?…

  9. OK, I just re-read your reply…in the books Stanton made it to first?…I suppose so…does sound strange but it is his SO…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s