Did you know? Catcher’s Interference

(AP Photo/Brian Blanco)

How to calculate some common percentage records:

Batting Average = Hits ÷ At Bats

Slugging Percentage = Total Bases ÷ At Bats

Okay, fairly basic stuff.  But how do you account for a batter getting on base via Catcher’s Interference (CI) ? Logically, it should add to their on base percentage (OBP).  It should be treated similarly to a walk or hit by pitch.  It doesn’t affect your batting average, but should bump up your OBP.  Well, it doesn’t.  Offically, if you get on base via CI, nothing happened.  It’s not considered an at bat, nor a plate appearance.   Now you know.

Sorry, Jacoby.

UPDATE: Catcher’s Interference IS considered a plate appearance. Here’s an update to this post. My bad.

Advertisements

About Ruben Lipszyc

I write about baseball. I'm a member of the Boston Chapter of the Baseball Blogger's Alliance, and I write about my Red Sox and keep Albertans up to date on local baseball happenings at RubensBaseball.blogspot.com. I occasionally also write articles for the Canadian Baseball Network at www.CanadianBaseballNetwork.com.

Posted on August 25, 2012, in Did you know? and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. And the scoring for a CI is … E2 (CI works in some software programs…I write CI E2 on my scorecard as a reminder that the catcher is charged with an error)
    And, speaking about errors, they don’t do a thing for the OBP, which is why the CI doesn’t go into the numerator of the on-base percentage formula. But unlike a batter reaching on an error (most of the time*), it doesn’t go into the denominator either.
    The scorer does not have to speculate what the outcome of the at bat in scoring the CI, although there are times that the CI is ignored if it favors the offense (e.g., the offense may choose to accept a fly ball out if it scores a runner rather than have runners on first and third and no out recorded). On the other had, if a CI is called when the batter fouls the ball away and is interfered with, there is no way of knowing how the AB would have finished.
    *Exception: Batter is safe on an error on a sac bunt; that is not included in the OBP since sac bunts are not included. If he is safe because his sac fly is dropped, that SF still goes into the denominator.

  2. That’s an excellent and much more comprehensive description of all the scoring intricacies of catcher’s interference. Thank you for sharing.

  1. Pingback: Batting title requirements and Melky Cabrera « Baseball Scoring Rules

  2. Pingback: Did you know? Catcher’s Interference. I DIDN’T!!! | Baseball Scoring Rules

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: